Question by wiccagirl24: Is some caviar vegetarian?
I know that the traditional method of caviar is to kill the fish and harvest the eggs. However it’s becoming more common for caviar farmers to either surgically remove the roe or strip it (almost like milking)
From a UK company called Mottra: “Once the sturgeon is about five years of age the caviar gets gently ‘stripped’ out of the fish. It is then put back into the perfect conditions of the Mottra pools in Riga, Latvia where the sturgeon continues to grow and starts the next year’s process of caviar production. ”
Now I’m not talking about the ethics of fish farming, just the simple logistics of how the eggs are obtained. Wouldn’t caviar from the company above or ones like it be vegetarian friendly?
Steve – Meat is the flesh of an animal. Fish is an animal. Yes, fish is meat.
Rocketman – I think caviar is disgusting, personally. The one time I tried it years ago I had to spit it into a napkin. I’m just asking for academic interest.
gahrahstah – It is an animal product, but so are eggs and dairy. So on that basis couldn’t an ovo vegetarian eat fish eggs just like they’d eat chicken eggs?
Answer by Hannah M
No. I don’t consider any kind of egg vegetarian
Give your answer to this question below!